Sunday, August 26, 2012

World Cup Football

The most eagerly awaited event of the sports world 
today is perhaps the World Cup Football. It is 
held under the auspices of FIFA, the body that controls the game.
Though the Federation de Internationals 
Football Associations (FIFA) was 
founded in Paris in 1904, the first 
World Cup Football tournament, the competition 
for global supremacy in football, was held as late
 as in 1930 in Monteverdi, Uruguay. The host 
country Uruguay won the trophy that year. Since
 then the tournament is held every fourth year with
 the final rounds played in a predetermined place. Football
 lovers all over the world assemble in the arena with their national flags, 
banners, festoons and even with musical instruments to cheep up their teams.
The World Cup Football tournament presents the game in 
its highest standard with every team putting forth its best to 
win the laurel. The spectators are enthralled by the wonderful 
teamwork and personal skills of the players. A hard fight a
nd a tussle for supremacy take the game to an unbelievable 
pitch of excitement. Different styles, tactics and skills of the world 
famous players are always a treat to watch. The managers 
choose their players and train them in their strategy well in advance as 
a well drilled army. No nation wants to give an inch without a fight. 
This resulted in several astonishing results like the defeat of the strong
 Brazilian team by Italy 3 to 2 in 1982.
The tournament was first won by Uruguay in 1930. Since the
 the winners were Italy (thrice, 1934, 1938, and 1982), Brazil 
(4 times, 1958, 1962 and 1970 and 1994), W. Germany (thrice, 
1954, 1974 and 1990), England (once, 1966), Uruguay 
(once again in 1950) and Argentina (twice, 1978 and 1986).
 The original trophy, the Jules Rimet Cup, was forever by Brazil
 after becoming the winner of the tournament for the third time in 
1970. Since then FIFA has replaced the original cup by FIFA World Cup. 
With the tournament are associated the names of some immortals
 like Pele, Stanley Mathews, Garnicha, Eusobio, Bobby Moore,
 Paolo Rosi, Maradona etc.
Previously football was a game of skill, strength, stamina, 
speed and shooting ability. But the recently concluded 
tournament has proved beyond doubt that without a 
good game plan no team can ever win the world cup.

No comments:

Post a Comment